Return to Irish Red Ale Extract Kit With Specialty Grains (5.25 US Gal)
Sort By::
Page of 1


  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Irish Red Ale October 10, 2018
Reviewer: Robin DeCaire from Kitimat, BC Canada  
Irish Red Ale is the best ale I have brewed yet. This ale has great color and tastes great! OBK has a great ale with this kit!

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
4 of 5 Liquid yeast may be the best January 15, 2018
Reviewer: Keith Richards from Yellowknife, NT Canada  
First brew I used liquid yeast  with no starter and used a 5gal pot then topped up to 5.25gal and it tasted great. Second batch not so good. Used dry yeast and did a full boil with no top up. This time it was ok but not great. Will order again. This time I will use liquid yeast and try a starter to see how it comes out. This my favorite extract from obk so far. On another note shipping is the best I've been able to find online and do keep looking.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
2 of 5 OK November 28, 2017
Reviewer: Victor from Huron County  
Not my favorite kit I've made - OG & FG were right on, no infection or anything, but I wasn't a huge fan of the beer. Obviously subjective as there are lots of positive reviews, but it seemed a little thin / watery?

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
3 of 5 Not as good as others August 20, 2015
Reviewer: Mike W from Barrie, ON  
This beer was just OK. I've really enjoyed everything else I've made until this one. I thought it was my water because I used the outside water source for this, but that isn't the case as I am now drinking a brew I did just a week after and it is great. The colour is great, its just the taste that I feel is lacking. I'm going to try it again I think to see if I was the problem.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 First brew ever June 26, 2015
Reviewer: Cilvers from Sudbury ontario  
this was my first homebrew ever, very easy to make and I was happy to finally keg this beer, has a great colour, nice sublet aroma and finished with a nice flavour, will brew this again for sure!

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Irish red November 15, 2014
Reviewer: Blair Madden from Barrie, ON Canada  
Fantastic kit....awesome colour and real good drinkablity.
This is the best kit made so far.


Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Nice Kit June 13, 2014
Reviewer: Scott Millican from Hanwell, New Brunswick  
Got this one for my wife, she likes wheats and Irish reds.

Made her the OBK Hefe kit. First kit in about 8yrs, and it turned out awesome, and I suspect this one will be no different!

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 fantastic May 30, 2014
Reviewer: Roddie from Dartmouth, NS Canada  
This was my very first homebrew and it turned out PERFECT. Friends/Family couldn't believe how great it turned out !

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Impressive Red Ale April 16, 2014
Reviewer: James Maggs from Hay Lakes, AB Canada  
This was my first kit from OBK. Was fun to make and turned out super clear and tasted great even after just one week in the keg.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Turned out great September 18, 2013
Reviewer: Kevin from Montreal  
This was my very first brew and it turned out great. Considering it was my first, it was better than expected!

It's a nice balanced beer. Nothing complicated, but easy to do and a nice flavour.

Was this review helpful to you?