Return to Malt Muncher Three Roller Malt Mill
Sort By::
Page of 1


  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Works Great! ...with proper setup! August 1, 2019
Reviewer: Chris Legault from Blainville, QC Canada  
This mill works great, but care must be used during assembly/setup.  First, you have to make sure the rollers still spin freely once the mill is bolted to your board and that all screws have been placed.  This required some fiddling around on my part, as the rollers would bind when I would tighten everything.  Secondly, you have to make sure you are adjusting the gap towards the proper (powered) roller... i.e. with adjustment knobs at 12 o'clock, if you rotate to one side the roller moves up and  forward towards the powered roller and in the opposite direction it moves up towards the free spinning roller.  So to get it to go towards the powered roller you must turn clockwise from 12 o'clock on the side with the drive shaft and counterclockwise on the opposite side.
There's a video that shows all this on youtube:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mKuMM5j4Yts

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Perfect Mill = Perfect Crush August 1, 2019
Reviewer: Lance Belanger from North Bay, ON Canada  
I've milled grain for many 10 gallon batches since buying this and this mill is seriously impressive. When I first received the mill one of the holes to attach the hopper wasn't threaded so I reached out to OBK and they quickly shipped replacement frame plates, which included another set of bearings so I'm all set for years to come now. I find the hopper a little small for 10 gallon batches but it seems to hold around 14lbs of grain so if you're doing 5 gallon batches this mill and hopper will work perfect. The gap setting is easy to adjust, took me maybe 1/2 lb of grain to get it setup right. Because of this mill I now get the perfect crush of my grain and was able to increase my efficiency almost 5 per cent as a result. I didn't even try and mill my grain by hand with the handle, I picked up a cheap drill that has a variable speed trigger and this chews through 22lbs of grain in less than 3 minutes.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
 
1 of 5 Hot garbage March 19, 2019
Reviewer: Marie-Annick Scott from Edmonton, AB Canada  
Beware the rave reviews. The issue with this mill for serious brewers is that only the bottom roller is adjustable. Want a finer crush? Too bad. Unless it's only slightly finer than the non-adjustable top two rollers, the crush point for the third roller is between itself and the non powered roller. That means that the mill will frequently jam because there's no force powering the second roller. And the powered roller will spin uselessly. It's why pro breweries stopped using 5 roller mills years ago.  My advice is to buy a 2 roller mill, condition your grain and double crush.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 A real champion April 11, 2018
Reviewer: Adam Dubeau from Seven Persons, AB Canada  
Only had a couple issues with this when I bought it. One of the locknuts for the hopper wasn't made right, as it had no threads, so I'm missing a hopper nut, but it doesn't affect the operation. The other issue was having to track down some mounting bolts and fabricate a mounting plate, but I was able to sort that out over a weekend.

I opted to add an electric motor to spin the mill, and after a quick trip to Princess Auto I was able to find a drive pulley, a hub, and a 9" pulley to reduce the mill speed to the recommended 200 RPM. I set the mill to the middle setting at .032" and it tore thru a grain bill like a fat kid opening a Mars Bar. The grist looks really good, everything is cracked open, and very little flour. Looking forward to using this a lot more.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Amazing Mill March 18, 2018
Reviewer: Marc-Andre from Saint-Eustache  
This mill is impressive, makes a perfect crush in no time. To make the most of it, get a powerful drill that can handle crushing at the recommended 200 RPM, this will make sure the husks are intact and reduce the amount of flour without having to condition the grains. If you're thinking about buying a mill, don't think twice, totally worth every penny!

Was this review helpful to you?

  4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
 
4 of 5 Fantastic mill November 5, 2017
Reviewer: Kevin from North Bay  
This mill is a beast, top notch quality and can't beat the price.  Only issue is if you're used to pulverizing your grain for BIAB, couldn't set the gap on mine much smaller than .034" without the lower roller rubbing the top dummy roller.  Super consistent crush size though compared to a two roller mill and should make for much better flow  while using traditional lautering methods.  Mounting screws for attaching to a base are M6-1.00 thread and are not included.

Was this review helpful to you?

  3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Amazing Mill September 18, 2017
Reviewer: Kevin from Port Dover  
I've used for 3 batches and it's worth every penny. The hopper is big enough to hold all the grain for a regular 5 gallon batch. It chews through that in no time (literally a couple mins). My old Barley Crusher like mill would take almost 5 times as long, with fighting jambs.
It has preset markers for two different roller gaps which makes it easy to set up. No more guessing.
Amazing mill. Really happy with this product. OBK only stocks top notch equipment.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
4 of 5 It works July 28, 2017
Reviewer: Rob from London  
It works well

Was this review helpful to you?